The 9th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards

In order to recognize the excellent work some of our fellow bloggers have been doing, RWN has put together the “9th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards.” More than 250 bloggers were invited to vote for their favorite blog in numerous categories and 46 responded.

Ace of Spades HQ, Dodgeblogium, Ed Driscoll, The Underground Conservative, Atlas Shrugs, Doug Ross, Nice Deb, The Anchoress, Libertarian Republican, Rachel Lucas, Pirate’s Cove, Russ. Just Russ, Moonbattery, Alexa Shrugged, Gina Cobb, Blackfive
Mean Ol’ Meany, Pundit Boy, Candid Conservative, Likelihood of Confusion, Legal Insurrection, Neo-Neocon, The Smallest Minority, Jihad Watch, Left Coast Rebel, The New Ledger, The Campaign Spot, Argghhhh!, QandO, The Virtuous Republic, No Oil For Pacifists, Midnight Blue, Dan Cleary, American Glob, Ghost of a Flea, Conservative In The Closet, The Minority Report, This Ain’t Hell, Newsreal, YidwithLid, Dodgeblogium, The Other McCain, Viral Footage, Argghhhh!, Infidels Are Cool, Fingers Malloy, mountaineer musings

Here were the rules of the contest:

1) For every category except “The Best Blog Overall,” each judge was allowed to make 1-5 unranked selections. The winner of each category was the blog with the most votes.

In “The Best Blog Overall” category, the judges made 1-15 unranked selections. Rank in that category was also based on the number of votes received.

The winner of each category is presented below with the total number of votes in parentheses.

2) The judges were not allowed to vote for my blogs since I’m sponsoring the contest.

Now here’s what you’ve all been waiting for, the results:

The Funniest Blog

4) IOwnTheWorld (7)
3) Ace of Spades HQ (9)
2) IMAO (11)
1) Iowahawk (22)

Best Designed Blog

2) Michelle Malkin (3)
2) Flopping Aces (3)
1) Hot Air (14)

Best Original Reporting By A Blog

4) Atlas Shrugs (5)
2) The Other McCain (6)
2) Gateway Pundit (6)
1) Michelle Malkin (7)

Best Horse Race Blog (Best election coverage & analysis from a blog)

2) RealClearPolitics (4)
2) The Campaign Spot (4)
2) Ace of Spades HQ (4)
2) Gateway Pundit (4)
1) Hot Air (5)

Best Vlogger (Video Blogger)

2) Lee Doren (3)
1) Steven Crowder (6)

Favorite Political Website That’s Not A Blog

2) National Review (6)
2) Drudge Report (6)
1) RealClearPolitics (7)

Favorite Columnist Who’s Not A Blogger

4) Thomas Sowell (7)
3) Ann Coulter (11)
2) Mark Steyn (13)
1) Charles Krauthammer (15)

Best Linker

2) The Other McCain (7)
2) Hot Air (7)
1) Instapundit (17)

The Best Original Content For A Blog

3) The Other McCain (4)
1) Michelle Malkin (5)
1) Hot Air (5)

Most Annoying Left-Of-Center Blogger

3) Matt Yglesias (6)
3) Kos/Daily Kos (6)
2) Charles Johnson (10)
1) Andrew Sullivan (11)

Most Annoying Right-Of-Center Blogger

4) Allah (4)
2) Dan Riehl (5)
2) Debbie Schlussel (5)
1) David Frum (8)

Most Overrated Blog

3) Instapundit (4)
3) Power Line (4)
2) The Huffington Post (5)
1) Hot Air (7)

The Best Blog Overall

10) The American Thinker(4)
7) Power Line (5)
7) The Other McCain (5)
7) The Corner (5)
5) Redstate (7)
5) Gateway Pundit (7)
4) Ace of Spades HQ (10)
2) Michelle Malkin (11)
2) Instapundit (11)
1) Hot Air (14)

You can see results from previous years by clicking the links below:

The 8th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards
The 7th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards (For 2008)
The 6th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards (For 2007)
The Fifth Annual Warblogger Awards (For 2006)
The Fourth Annual Warblogger Awards For 2005
The Third Annual Warblogger Awards For 2004
The Second Annual Warblogger Awards For 2003
The First Annual Warblogger Awards For 2002
The Best Of The Blogosphere (The Precursor To The Warblogger Awards)

Related Articles


The Top 125 Political Websites On The Net Version 3.0

Once again, I’ve decided it’s time to rank the most popular political websites using:… Do keep in mind that… 1)


A Report On My Get-Out-The-Vote Trip To Vegas With Western Representation PAC & (18 Pictures)

Western Representation PAC:  and Dustin were doing a final get-out-the-vote push in Nevada before the election. They offered to


The 3rd Annual Twenty Most Annoying Liberals In The United States: The 2004 Edition

Honorable Mentions:: The ACLU, Max Cleland, Chevy Chase, Susan Estrich, Al Franken, Whoopi Goldberg, Bev Harris, Jesse Jackson, Ted Kennedy, Terry