California City Could Charge Kindergarten Students With Misdemeanors For Bullying
What happens when people take up a good cause–in this case, anti-bullying–and turn it into a vehicle for zero-tolerance zealotry? Carson, California, might be able to charge kids as young as kindergarten with misdemeanors for bullying other children.
Common sense is apparently too much to ask for these days.
The Carson City Council gave preliminary approval this week to an ordinance aimed at persons, including other youths, who cause anyone from kindergarten to age 25 to feel terrorized, harassed or threatened with no legitimate purpose.
A final vote is set for May 20, The Daily Breeze reported.
First-time offenders could be ticketed for an infraction and fined $100. A second infraction would cost $200, and a third-time offense could bring a criminal misdemeanor charge.
This law is so poorly worded, any good it would do is outweighed by its potential for abuse. I’m all for taking action against bullies, but let’s just say dragging 5-year-olds into court for calling a classmate a “pee-pee head” doesn’t sound like a reasonable solution.
Both The Aliens And The Dead Know Our Past And Our Future…: What do you get when you mix together
The website of the day is Villainous Company. Trending on the Web
At 4:07 PM EST, I’m going to be on the Jaz McKay show. Click on Stickam in the left corner