The 40 Best Conservative Columnists of 2017 (9th Annual)

by Terresa Monroe-Hamilton | December 18, 2017 4:06 pm

Every year, John Hawkins compiles a list of the 40 best conservative columnists out there. So many of my favorites are on here and even a few friends. Heh. Just a few that are very special to me are Erick Erickson, Andrew Klavan, Ann Coulter, Todd Starnes, Dennis Prager, David Limbaugh, Victor Davis Hanson, Glenn Reynolds, Michelle Malkin, Jonah Goldberg and Ben Shapiro. All of them listed below are fantastic, but those are the ones I have truly come to rely on for information over the years. If I could write just a fraction as well as these writers do, I’d be very happy.

There are a number of lists around the web that will give you names like this, but I have never found anyone out there as astute as John Hawkins is when it comes to talent. He’s a fantastic writer all on his own and his name should be on here, but he would never blow his own horn. So, I’m doing it for him. I’ve gotten to know John over the last few years and he is one of the greatest guys you will ever have the honor of meeting.

As politics has heated up over the last two years, a number of these writers have really rocked the Internet. Each one on this list is gifted in their own personal way in writing and reporting. All of them are brilliant. You’ll recognize a lot of them. And I might point out that you will get more factual news from these writers than you do the mainstream media. We are lucky and blessed to have these people. The are the warriors on the web… our front line.

[1]

40) Susan Stamper Brown[2]
39) Larry Elder[3]
38) Andrew Malcolm[4]
37) Mollie Hemingway[5]
36) John Ziegler[6]
35) Karol Markowicz[7]
34) Michael Brendan Dougherty[8]
33) Erick Erickson[9]
32) Mike Adams[10]
31) David Harsanyi[11]
30) Dan Gainor[12]
29) Quinn Hillyer[13]
28) Andrew Klavan[14]
27) Rachel Alexander[15]
26) Michael Barone[16]
25) Kyle Smith[17]
24) Megan McCardle[18]
23) Ann Coulter[19]
22) Matthew Continetti[20]
21) Kat Timpf[21]
20) Todd Starnes[22]
19) John Stosse[23]l
18) Kevin McCarthy[24]
17) James Pethokoukis[25]
16) Dennis Prager[26]
15) Walter Williams[27]
14) Michelle Malkin[28]
13) Rich Lowry[29]
12) Byron York[30]
11) Glenn Reynolds[31]
10) Victor Davis Hanson[32]
9) Ashe Schow[33]
8) David Limbaugh[34]
7) Kevin Williamson[35]
6) Matt Lewis[36]
5) David French[37]
4) Kurt Schlichter[38]
3) Matt Walsh[39]
2) Jonah Goldberg[40]
1) Ben Shapiro[41]

I started out blogging back immediately after 9/11. There have been a number of these writers who have been very kind to me over the years and have suffered what I come up with from time to time. To each of them, I want to say thank you and Merry Christmas! Closest to me on this list is Michelle Malkin, who I count as a friend and a mentor. She’s a fantastic person with a heart of gold. David Limbaugh is a man of deep faith, with a gift for speaking and writing. I’ve long admired him. Andrew Klavan makes me smile when I most need it. And I bow before the incredible wit of both Jonah Goldberg and Ben Shapiro. When I first started researching progressives, it was Jonah’s writing that inspired me. Ben has the intellect and wit of one of the greatest conservative minds I’ve ever run across.

I love them all, but I’m sure you will have your own favorites. And this is a great list to keep handy when you want to read someone’s opinion on current events and what is going on in politics. For me, this list is priceless, because I read all of them and use their brilliance to make my own writing just a little bit better. They are far more informative and reliable than 99% of the news sites out there.

There is one writer that’s not on here that I must mention and that is Trevor Loudon. He is like family to me and his books are legendary. He also has several documentaries out on Antifa and progressives. Like me, he is what I call a commie hunter. It’s a small group. Although from New Zealand, Trevor is the quintessential American and loves this country with all his heart and soul. He is the best researcher I have ever seen by far and I am proud to call him my friend. You really need to read his books and writing, as well as watch his documentaries. His website is www.trevorloudon.com. His research can be found at KeyWiki.org.

[42]

Also see:

The 50 Best Conservative Columnists of 2016 (8th Annual)[43]
The 50 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2015 (7th Annual)[44]
The 50 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2014 (6th Annual)[45]
The 50 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2013 (5th Annual)[46]
The 50 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2012 (4th Annual)[47]
The 40 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2011[48]
The 40 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2010[49]
The 40 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2009[50]

Endnotes:
  1. [Image]: https://rightwingnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/12/Conservatives.jpg
  2. Susan Stamper Brown: https://townhall.com/columnists/susanstamperbrown/
  3. Larry Elder: https://townhall.com/columnists/larryelder/
  4. Andrew Malcolm: http://www.mcclatchydc.com/search/?q=andrew+malcolm
  5. Mollie Hemingway: https://thefederalist.com/author/mzhemingway/
  6. John Ziegler: https://www.mediaite.com/tag/john-ziegler/
  7. Karol Markowicz: https://nypost.com/author/karol-markowicz/
  8. Michael Brendan Dougherty: http://www.nationalreview.com/author/michael-brendan-dougherty
  9. Erick Erickson: https://townhall.com/columnists/erickerickson/
  10. Mike Adams: https://townhall.com/columnists/mikeadams/
  11. David Harsanyi: https://thefederalist.com/author/dharsanyi/
  12. Dan Gainor: https://www.cnsnews.com/author/dan-gainor
  13. Quinn Hillyer: http://quinhillyer.com/
  14. Andrew Klavan: https://pjmedia.com/andrewklavan/
  15. Rachel Alexander: https://stream.org/author/rachelalexander/
  16. Michael Barone: http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/author/michael-barone
  17. Kyle Smith: http://www.nationalreview.com/author/kyle-smith
  18. Megan McCardle: https://www.bloomberg.com/view/contributors/megan-mcardle
  19. Ann Coulter: http://www.anncoulter.com/
  20. Matthew Continetti: http://freebeacon.com/author/matt/
  21. Kat Timpf: http://www.nationalreview.com/author/katherine-timpf
  22. Todd Starnes: https://townhall.com/columnists/toddstarnes/
  23. John Stosse: https://townhall.com/columnists/johnstossel/
  24. Kevin McCarthy: http://www.nationalreview.com/author/kevin-mccarthy
  25. James Pethokoukis: http://www.aei.org/scholar/james-pethokoukis/
  26. Dennis Prager: https://townhall.com/columnists/dennisprager/
  27. Walter Williams: https://townhall.com/columnists/walterewilliams/
  28. Michelle Malkin: https://townhall.com/columnists/michellemalkin/
  29. Rich Lowry: http://www.nationalreview.com/author/rich-lowry
  30. Byron York: https://www.washingtonexaminer.com/author/byron-york
  31. Glenn Reynolds: https://pjmedia.com/instapundit/
  32. Victor Davis Hanson: http://www.nationalreview.com/author/victor-davis-hanson
  33. Ashe Schow: http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/author/ashe-schow
  34. David Limbaugh: https://townhall.com/columnists/davidlimbaugh/
  35. Kevin Williamson: http://www.nationalreview.com/author/kevin-d-williamson
  36. Matt Lewis: https://www.thedailybeast.com/author/matt-lewis
  37. David French: http://www.nationalreview.com/author/david-french
  38. Kurt Schlichter: https://townhall.com/columnists/kurtschlichter/
  39. Matt Walsh: https://www.dailywire.com/authors/matt-walsh
  40. Jonah Goldberg: http://www.nationalreview.com/author/jonah-goldberg
  41. Ben Shapiro: https://www.dailywire.com/authors/ben-shapiro
  42. [Image]: https://rightwingnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/12/Michelle-Malkin.gif
  43. The 50 Best Conservative Columnists of 2016 (8th Annual): https://rightwingnews.com/column-2/326270/
  44. The 50 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2015 (7th Annual): https://rightwingnews.com/john-hawkins/the-50-best-conservative-columnists-of-2014-7th-annual/
  45. The 50 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2014 (6th Annual): https://rightwingnews.com/john-hawkins/50-best-conservative-columnists-2014-7th-annual/
  46. The 50 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2013 (5th Annual): https://rightwingnews.com/john-hawkins/the-50-best-conservative-columnists-of-2013-5th-annual/
  47. The 50 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2012 (4th Annual): https://rightwingnews.com/john-hawkins/the-50-best-conservative-columnists-of-2012/
  48. The 40 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2011: https://rightwingnews.com/lists/the-40-best-conservative-columnists-of-2011-version-4-0/
  49. The 40 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2010: https://rightwingnews.com/lists/the-25-best-conservative-columnists-of-2010-version-4-0/
  50. The 40 Best Conservative Columnists Of 2009: https://rightwingnews.com/lists/the-30-best-conservative-columnists-for-2009-version-3-0/

Source URL: https://rightwingnews.com/conservatives/the-40-best-conservative-columnists-2017-9th-annual-2/