Panic After Oregon Allows Self-Serve Gas Stations in Some Areas

by Dave Blount | January 3, 2018 12:35 pm

The more government, the more people come to rely on its handouts and senseless regulations. On the rare occasions that government ebbs, panic results:

A law passed through Oregon’s legislature in May and signed into law in June will allow counties with 40,000 residents or fewer to pump their own gas. Oregonians are not pleased about the change.

This went into effect with the New Year. Yelps one Oregonian:

“I don’t even know HOW to pump gas and I am 62, native Oregonian…..I say NO THANKS! I don’t want to smell like gasoline!”

Maybe she should consider a move to the Garden State.

Motorists in New Jersey … face stiff penalties for touching pumps – fines range between $50 and $250 for the first offense and up to $500 for subsequent offenses.

Note that the new Oregon law does not require anyone to endure the hardship of pumping their own gas. It merely allows self-serve gas stations to exist. But that is too much freedom for some.

On a tip from Steve T. Cross-posted at Moonbattery.

Source URL: