The Top 125 Political Websites On The Net Version 3.0

by John Hawkins | April 23, 2012 9:58 pm

Once again, I’ve decided it’s time to rank the most popular political websites using: Alexa.com[1]…

Do keep in mind that…

1) While I think this is a fairly comprehensive list, I’m sure some pages were probably left out. That wasn’t intentional, it’s just something that is going to happen when you try to take on an undertaking as massive as this one.

2) For a variety of reasons, I did not include websites run by either the Republican or Democratic party, newspapers, or pages run by the networks. Also, it goes without saying that sometimes I had to make judgement calls about whether certain pages that don’t necessarily exclusively cover politics were going to make the list.

3) Alexa can’t properly read all the: Blog*spot[2]: pages so they all receive the same rank. Because of that, none of them could be included.

4) Last but not least, Alexa sometimes cannot distinguish between the main page and secondary page of a website. For example, Alexa gives: Eric Alterman’s blog[3]: the same ranking as: MSNBC[4]: which meant I had to leave out a few blogs of interest that were hosted on much larger pages.

All 125 websites are listed with their Alexa rank following their link. So for example, a “1” would mean the page was the most popular website on the net. A “50,000” would mean the 50,000th most popular page on the net. With that being said, let’s go ahead and take a look at the rankings.

(***After you’re done, you may want to check previous editions of these rankings for comparison’s sake***)

Top 100 Political Websites — January 2003[5]
The Top 50 Bloggers — June 2003[6]
Top 125 Political Websites — October 2003[7]
The Top 50 Bloggers — February 2004[8]

 

 

Websites
Alexa Ranking
1) The Drudge Report[9] 302
2) World Net Daily[10] 975
3) Salon[11] 1,125
4) Newsmax[12] 1,138
5) Lew Rockwell[13] 1,244
6) Free Republic[14] 1,606
7) TownHall[15] 1,709
8) Time[16] 1,805
9) National Review[17] 2,694
10) The Economist[18] 2,801
11) Antiwar.com[19] 3,147
12) The Rush Limbaugh Show[20] 3,240
13) John Kerry For President[21] 3,308
14) The Christian Science Monitor[22] 3,514
15) Periodicals of the Ludwig von Mises Institute[23] 3,625
16) IndyMedia[24] 3,627
17) Opinion Journal[25] 3,677
18) Common Dreams[26] 4,191
19) U.S. News & World Report:[27] 4,533
20) Newsfilter[28] 4,593
21) The Democratic Underground[29] 5,098
22) The Village Voice[30] 5,201
23) Bush Cheney ’04[31] 5,631
24) Move On[32] 5,766
25) Lucianne[33] 5,995
26) Front Page Magazine[34] 6,744
27) Howard Dean for America[35] 7,736
28) The Atlantic Online[36] 7,821
29) Daily Kos[37] 7,823
30) Sean Hannity[38] 8,376
31) The Weekly Standard[39] 8,398
32) Counterpunch[40] 8,875
33) The Nation[41] 9,654
34) AlterNet[42] 9,844
35) Reason[43] 10,374
36) Air America Radio[44] 10,731
37) Andrew Sullivan’s Daily Dish[45] 10,739
38) Instapundit[46] 10,839
39) Buzzflash[47] 11,301
40) Jewish World Review[48] 11,353
41) Neal Boortz[49] 11,568
42) What Really Happened[50] 11,750
43) Talking Points Memo[51] 11,982
44) Michael Moore[52] 12,760
45) The New Republic[53] 13,000
46) The Cato Journal[54] 14,412
47) Vdare[55] 14,521
48) Cybercast News Service[56] 14,618
49) Tech Central Station[57] 15,013
50) New Yorker[58] 15,550
51) The Hill[59] 15,690
52) World Socialist Website[60] 15,712
53) The Heritage Foundation[61] 15,713
54) Real Clear Politics[62] 15,768
55) Bill O’Reilly[63] 16,038
56) Zmag[64] 16,224
57) Poynter Online[65] 16,307
58) Men’s News Daily[66] 16,948
59) Arts And Letters Daily[67] 17,610
60) Sobran’s[68] 17,771
61) The American Spectator[69] 18,809
62) Ann Coulter[70] 19,380
63) James Lileks:[71] 20,184
64) Mother Jones[72] 20,222
65) Anti-State.com[73] 20,320
66) Tom Paine[74] 20,679
67) Little Green Footballs[75] 20,725
68) Strike The Root[76] 21,010
69) The American Enterprise Institute[77] 22,208
70) Human Events Online[78] 22,403
71) Wonkette[79] 22,655
72) Insight Magazine[80] 23,319
73) American Conservative[81] 23,421
74) The American Prospect[82] 23,449
75) The Smirking Chimp[83] 23,892
76) Etherzone[84] 23,924
77) Free-Market.Net[85] 30,384
78) Political Wire[86] 32,839
79) Politics 1[87] 33,001
80) National Journal[88] 33,851
81) Washington Monthly[89] 35,388
82) The Drudge Retort[90] 36,115
83) Media Research Center[91] 37,934
84) Whiskey Bar[92] 38,302
85) Bartcop[93] 39,031
86) Informed Comment[94] 40,350
87) The Semi-Daily Journal of Economist Brad DeLong[95] 41,090
88) Right Wing News[96] 43,562
89) Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting[97] 44,162
90) Cursor[98] 44,887
91) The Command Post[99] 46,938
92) Bush Watch[100] 47,255
93) The Volokh Conspiracy[101] 47,436
94) Infoshop — Your Online Anarchist Community[102] 49,394
95) Scrappleface[103] 50,771
96) Democrats.com[104] 50,792
97) Karen De Coster[105] 52,450
98) Buzz Machine[106] 52,983
99) This Modern World[107] 53,689
100) The Progressive[108] 55,696
101) Don Imus In The Morning[109] 57,777
102) The USS Clueless[110] 59,496
103) NumbersUSA[111] 60,195
104) The Ayn Rand Institute[112] 60,238
105) Hugh Hewitt[113] 60,438
106) Roll Call[114] 60,591
107) Accuracy In Media[115] 60,634
108) Spleenville (Tim Blair, Sine Qua Non, & Twisted Spinster)[116] 61,141
109) Intellectual Conservative[117] 62,651
110) Oliver Willis[118] 63,381
111) Open Democracy[119] 64,970
112) Congressional Quarterly[120] 65,756
113) ChronWatch[121] 65,903
114) Matthew Yglesias[122] 68,343
115) The Daily Howler[123] 69,159
116) Capitol Hill Blue[124] 71,315
117) Laura Ingraham[125] 71,491
118) The Truth Laid Bear[126] 71,541
119) Daniel Drezner[127] 73,204
120) Maxspeak[128] 74,086
121) Power Line[129] 75,217
122) Steyn Online[130] 75,961
123) Allah Is In The House[131] 79,283
124) Dean’s World[132] 79,547
125) Talk Left[133] 81,855

Endnotes:
  1. Alexa.com: http://www.alexa.com/
  2. Blog*spot: http://www.blogspot.com/
  3. Eric Alterman’s blog: http://www.msnbc.com/news/752664.asp
  4. MSNBC: http://www.msnbc.com/
  5. Top 100 Political Websites — January 2003: https://rightwingnews.com/special/rank.php
  6. The Top 50 Bloggers — June 2003: https://rightwingnews.com/special/topblogs.php
  7. Top 125 Political Websites — October 2003: https://rightwingnews.com/special/125pop.php
  8. The Top 50 Bloggers — February 2004: https://rightwingnews.com/special/blogospherepower.php
  9. 1) The Drudge Report: http://www.drudgereport.com/
  10. 2) World Net Daily: http://worldnetdaily.com/
  11. 3) Salon: http://salon.com/
  12. 4) Newsmax: http://newsmax.com/
  13. 5) Lew Rockwell: http://www.lewrockwell.com/
  14. 6) Free Republic: http://freerepublic.com/
  15. 7) TownHall: http://townhall.com/
  16. 8) Time: http://www.time.com/time/
  17. 9) National Review: http://nationalreview.com/
  18. 10) The Economist: http://economist.com/
  19. 11) Antiwar.com: http://www.antiwar.com/
  20. 12) The Rush Limbaugh Show: http://rushlimbaugh.com/
  21. 13) John Kerry For President: http://www.johnkerry.com/
  22. 14) The Christian Science Monitor: http://csmonitor.com/
  23. 15) Periodicals of the Ludwig von Mises Institute: http://www.mises.org/journals.asp
  24. 16) IndyMedia: http://indymedia.org/
  25. 17) Opinion Journal: http://www.opinionjournal.com/
  26. 18) Common Dreams: http://commondreams.org/
  27. 19) U.S. News & World Report:: http://usnews.com/
  28. 20) Newsfilter: http://http//newsfilter.org/
  29. 21) The Democratic Underground: http://democraticunderground.com/
  30. 22) The Village Voice: http://villagevoice.com/
  31. 23) Bush Cheney ’04: http://www.georgewbush.com/
  32. 24) Move On: http://www.moveon.org/
  33. 25) Lucianne: http://lucianne.com/
  34. 26) Front Page Magazine: http://frontpagemag.com/
  35. 27) Howard Dean for America: http://deanforamerica.com/
  36. 28) The Atlantic Online: http://theatlantic.com/
  37. 29) Daily Kos: http://dailykos.com/
  38. 30) Sean Hannity: http://hannity.com/
  39. 31) The Weekly Standard: http://weeklystandard.com/
  40. 32) Counterpunch: http://counterpunch.org/
  41. 33) The Nation: http://thenation.com/
  42. 34) AlterNet: http://www.alternet.org/
  43. 35) Reason: http://www.reason.com/
  44. 36) Air America Radio: http://airamericaradio.com/pub/globalDefault.htm
  45. 37) Andrew Sullivan’s Daily Dish: http://andrewsullivan.com/
  46. 38) Instapundit: http://www.instapundit.com/
  47. 39) Buzzflash: http://buzzflash.com/
  48. 40) Jewish World Review: http://jewishworldreview.com/
  49. 41) Neal Boortz: http://www.boortz.com/
  50. 42) What Really Happened: http://whatreallyhappened.com/
  51. 43) Talking Points Memo: http://www.talkingpointsmemo.com/
  52. 44) Michael Moore: http://www.michaelmoore.com/
  53. 45) The New Republic: http://www.tnr.com/
  54. 46) The Cato Journal: http://cato.org/pubs/journal/cato_journal.html
  55. 47) Vdare: http://vdare.com/
  56. 48) Cybercast News Service: http://www.cnsnews.com/
  57. 49) Tech Central Station: http://www.techcentralstation.com/
  58. 50) New Yorker: http://www.newyorker.com/
  59. 51) The Hill: http://www.hillnews.com/
  60. 52) World Socialist Website: http://www.wsws.org/index.shtml
  61. 53) The Heritage Foundation: http://www//heritage.org/
  62. 54) Real Clear Politics: http://realclearpolitics.com/
  63. 55) Bill O’Reilly: http://www.billoreilly.com/
  64. 56) Zmag: http://zmag.org/
  65. 57) Poynter Online: http://www.poynter.org/
  66. 58) Men’s News Daily: http://www.mensnewsdaily.com/
  67. 59) Arts And Letters Daily: http://www.aldaily.com/
  68. 60) Sobran’s: http://www.sobran.com/
  69. 61) The American Spectator: http://www.spectator.org/
  70. 62) Ann Coulter: http://www.anncoulter.org/
  71. 63) James Lileks:: http://www.lileks.com/bleats/
  72. 64) Mother Jones: http://motherjones.com/
  73. 65) Anti-State.com: http://www.anti-state.com/
  74. 66) Tom Paine: http://www.tompaine.com/
  75. 67) Little Green Footballs: http://littlegreenfootballs.com/weblog/weblog.php
  76. 68) Strike The Root: http://www.strike-the-root.com/
  77. 69) The American Enterprise Institute: http://www.aei.org/
  78. 70) Human Events Online: http://humaneventsonline.com/
  79. 71) Wonkette: http://wonkette.com/
  80. 72) Insight Magazine: http://www.insightmag.com/
  81. 73) American Conservative: http://www.amconmag.com/
  82. 74) The American Prospect: http://www.prospect.org/
  83. 75) The Smirking Chimp: http://www.smirkingchimp.com/
  84. 76) Etherzone: http://www.etherzone.com/
  85. 77) Free-Market.Net: http://www.free-market.net/
  86. 78) Political Wire: http://www.politicalwire.com/
  87. 79) Politics 1: http://www.politics1.com/
  88. 80) National Journal: http://nationaljournal.com/
  89. 81) Washington Monthly: http://www.washingtonmonthly.com/
  90. 82) The Drudge Retort: http://www.drudge.com/
  91. 83) Media Research Center: http://www.mediaresearch.org/
  92. 84) Whiskey Bar: http://www.billmon.org/
  93. 85) Bartcop: http://www.bartcop.com/
  94. 86) Informed Comment: http://www.juancole.com/
  95. 87) The Semi-Daily Journal of Economist Brad DeLong: http://www.j-bradford-delong.net/movable_type/
  96. 88) Right Wing News: https://rightwingnews.com/
  97. 89) Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting: http://www.fair.org/
  98. 90) Cursor: http://www.cursor.org/
  99. 91) The Command Post: http://command-post.org/
  100. 92) Bush Watch: http://www.bushwatch.com/
  101. 93) The Volokh Conspiracy: http://volokh.com/
  102. 94) Infoshop — Your Online Anarchist Community: http://infoshop.org/
  103. 95) Scrappleface: http://www.scrappleface.com/
  104. 96) Democrats.com: http://www.democrats.com/
  105. 97) Karen De Coster: http://www.karendecoster.com/
  106. 98) Buzz Machine: http://www.buzzmachine.com/
  107. 99) This Modern World: http://www.thismodernworld.com/
  108. 100) The Progressive: http://www.progressive.org/
  109. 101) Don Imus In The Morning: http://wfan.com/imusinstantreplay/
  110. 102) The USS Clueless: http://www.denbeste.nu/
  111. 103) NumbersUSA: http://www.numbersusa.com/index
  112. 104) The Ayn Rand Institute: http://www.aynrand.org/
  113. 105) Hugh Hewitt: http://www.hughhewitt.com/
  114. 106) Roll Call: http://www.rollcall.com/
  115. 107) Accuracy In Media: http://www.aim.org/
  116. 108) Spleenville (Tim Blair, Sine Qua Non, & Twisted Spinster): http://www.spleenville.com/
  117. 109) Intellectual Conservative: http://www.intellectualconservative.com/
  118. 110) Oliver Willis: http://www.oliverwillis.com/
  119. 111) Open Democracy: http://www.opendemocracy.net/home/index.jsp
  120. 112) Congressional Quarterly: http://www.cq.com/
  121. 113) ChronWatch: http://chronwatch.com/
  122. 114) Matthew Yglesias: http://www.matthewyglesias.com/
  123. 115) The Daily Howler: http://www.dailyhowler.com/
  124. 116) Capitol Hill Blue: http://www.capitolhillblue.com/
  125. 117) Laura Ingraham: http://www.lauraingraham.com/
  126. 118) The Truth Laid Bear: http://www.truthlaidbear.com/
  127. 119) Daniel Drezner: http://www.danieldrezner.com/blog/
  128. 120) Maxspeak: http://www.maxspeak.org/gm/
  129. 121) Power Line: http://www.powerlineblog.com/
  130. 122) Steyn Online: http://www.steynonline.com/
  131. 123) Allah Is In The House: https://rightwingnews.com/www.allahpundit.com
  132. 124) Dean’s World: http://www.deanesmay.com/
  133. 125) Talk Left: http://www.talkleft.com/

Source URL: https://rightwingnews.com/special/the-top-125-political-websites-on-the-net-version-3-0/