The Top 125 Political Websites On The Net Version 4.0

by John Hawkins | April 21, 2012 9:53 pm

Once again, I’ve decided it’s time to rank the most popular political websites using: Alexa.com[1]…

Do keep in mind that…

1) While I think this is a fairly comprehensive list, I’m sure some pages were probably left out. That wasn’t intentional, it’s just something that is going to happen when you try to take on an undertaking as massive as this one.

2) For a variety of reasons, I did not include websites run by either the Republican or Democratic party, newspapers, or pages run by the networks. Also, it goes without saying that sometimes I had to make judgement calls about whether certain pages that don’t necessarily exclusively cover politics were going to make the list.

3) Alexa can’t properly read all the: Blog*spot[2]: pages so they all receive the same rank. Because of that, none of them could be included.

4) Last but not least, Alexa sometimes cannot distinguish between the main page and secondary page of a website. For example, Alexa gives: Eric Alterman’s blog[3]: the same ranking as: MSNBC[4]: which meant I had to leave out a few blogs of interest that were hosted on much larger pages.

All 125 websites are listed with their Alexa rank following their link. So for example, a “1” would mean the page was the most popular website on the net. A “50,000” would mean the 50,000th most popular page on the net. With that being said, let’s go ahead and take a look at the rankings.

1): The Drudge Report:[5]: 413
2): Newsmax:[6]: 1,532
3): Financial Times:[7]: 1,555
4): World Net Daily:[8]: 1,585
5): Salon:[9]: 1,646
6): Time:[10]: 2,225
7): Free Republic:[11]: 2,322
8): Lew Rockwell:[12]: 2,341
9): John Kerry For President:[13]: 2,489
10): TownHall:[14]: 2,710

[15]

11): National Review:[16]: 3,195
12): The Economist:[17]: 3,445
13): Michael Moore:[18]: 3,635
14): The Rush Limbaugh Show:[19]: 4,128
15): Antiwar.com:[20]: 4,206
16): IndyMedia:[21]: 4,214
17): Bush Cheney ’04:[22]: 4,255
18): U.S. News and World Report:[23]: 4,875
19): The Christian Science Monitor:[24]: 4,892
20): Common Dreams:[25]: 5,581

21): Opinion Journal:[26]: 5,893
22): Periodicals of the Ludwig von Mises Institute:[27]: 6,158
23): The Village Voice:[28]: 6,293
24): The Democratic Underground:[29]: 6,606
25): Move On:[30]: 7,683
26): Front Page Magazine:[31]: 8,182
27): Daily Kos:[32]: 8,678
28): Lucianne:[33]: 8,971
29): The Weekly Standard:[34]: 9,844
30): AlterNet:[35]: 10,226

31): Counterpunch:[36]: 10,581
32): Sean Hannity:[37]: 11,354
33): Real Clear Politics:[38]: 11,483
34): Air America Radio:[39]: 11,691
35): Cybercast News Service:[40]: 11,896
36): Instapundit:[41]: 12,451
37): Buzzflash:[42]: 13,081
38): What Really Happened:[43]: 13,279
39): New Yorker:[44]: 13,845
40): The Nation:[45]: 13,855

41): Jewish World Review:[46]: 13,999
42): Neal Boortz:[47]: 14,022
43): Talking Points Memo:[48]: 14,109
44): Reason:[49]: 14,541
45): Poynter Online:[50]: 16,173
46): Little Green Footballs:[51]: 16,797
47): Bill O’Reilly:[52]: 16,902
48): Wonkette:[53]: 16,994
49): Andrew Sullivan’s Daily Dish:[54]: 17,523
50): The New Republic:[55]: 18,350

51): World Socialist Website:[56]: 18,507
52): Zmag:[57]: 18,558
53): The Atlantic Online:[58]: 18,742
54): The American Spectator:[59]: 19,050
55): Human Events Online:[60]: 19,611
56): Washington Monthly:[61]: 20,473
57): Ann Coulter:[62]: 20,995
58): Sobran’s:[63]: 23,018
59): Arts And Letters Daily:[64]: 24,089
60): Tech Central Station:[65]: 24,815

61): The Cato Journal:[66]: 25,299
62): Capitol Hill Blue:[67]: 25,308
63): James Lileks:[68]: 25,965
64): The Heritage Foundation:[69]: 26,523
65): Mother Jones:[70]: 26,564
66): Media Mattes:[71]: 26,675
67): Vdare:[72]: 26,837
68): The Smirking Chimp:[73]: 26,942
69): The Hill:[74]: 27,301
70): Men’s News Daily:[75]: 29,198

71): Etherzone:[76]: 30,226
72): Political Wire:[77]: 30,387
73): Strike The Root:[78]: 31,033
74): Moore Watch:[79]: 31,155
75): Glenn Beck:[80]: 32,471
76): Power Line:[81]: 32,867
77): The American Prospect:[82]: 33,293
78): Michelle Malkin:[83]: 33,448
79): Tom Paine:[84]: 33,546
80): American Daily:[85]: 34,252

81): Anti-State.com:[86]: 34,640
82): American Conservative:[87]: 35,823
83): GOPUSA:[88]: 35,961
84): Insight Magazine:[89]: 36,791
85): Informed Comment[90]: 39,044
86): National Journal:[91]: 40,833
87): Swift Boat Veterans For Truth:[92]: 41,278
88): Bartcop:[93]: 41,502
89): Hugh Hewitt:[94]: 41,858
90): The Command Post:[95]: 42,936

91): Politics 1:[96]: 45,561
92): Foreign Policy:[97]: 48,309
93): This Modern World:[98]: 49,797
94): Media Research Center:[99]: 50,202
95): Fairness And Accuracy In Reporting:[100]: 52,451
96): Election Projection:[101]: 52,678
97): Wizbang:[102]: 53,374
98): The American Enterprise Institute:[103]: 55,012
99): The Drudge Retort:[104]: 55,702
100): Democrats.com:[105]: 56,527

101): The Semi-Daily Journal of Economist Brad DeLong:[106]: 58,454
102): Laura Ingraham:[107]: 59,414
103): Buzz Machine:[108]: 59,601
104): Cursor:[109]: 60,268
105): Talk Left:[110]: 60,896
106): The Daily Howler:[111]: 62,915
107): ChronWatch:[112]: 65,652
108): Bush Watch:[113]: 66,220
109): Karen De Coster:[114]: 66,270
110): Free-Market.Net:[115]: 68,474

111): Right Wing News:[116]: 68,492
112): Captain’s Quarters:[117]: 68,646
113): The Volokh Conspiracy:[118]: 69,365
114): Daniel Drezner:[119]: 72,425
115): The Raw Story:[120]: 72,567
116): Congressional Quarterly:[121]: 72,941
117): The Progressive:[122]: 75,150
118): Intellectual Conservative:[123]: 76,801
119): Roll Call:[124]: 77,294
120): Allah Is In The House:[125]: 77,608

121): Blogs For Bush:[126]: 79,003
122): The Agonist:[127]: 79,147
123): Whiskey Bar:[128]: 79,635
124): Scrappleface:[129]: 81,901
125): Democracy For America:[130]: 82,91

(*** Previous versions of the most popular political websites on the net are listed here ***)

Top 100 Political Websites — January 2003[131]
Top 125 Political Websites — October 2003[132]
The Top 125 Political Websites On The Net Version 3.0 — May 2004[133]

Endnotes:
  1. Alexa.com: http://www.alexa.com/
  2. Blog*spot: http://www.blogspot.com/
  3. Eric Alterman’s blog: http://www.msnbc.com/news/752664.asp
  4. MSNBC: http://www.msnbc.com/
  5. The Drudge Report:: http://www.drudgereport.com/
  6. Newsmax:: http://newsmax.com/
  7. Financial Times:: http://news.ft.com/home/us
  8. World Net Daily:: http://worldnetdaily.com/
  9. Salon:: http://salon.com/
  10. Time:: http://www.time.com/time/
  11. Free Republic:: http://freerepublic.com/
  12. Lew Rockwell:: http://www.lewrockwell.com/
  13. John Kerry For President:: http://www.johnkerry.com/
  14. TownHall:: http://townhall.com/
  15. [Image]: https://rightwingnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/drudge.jpg
  16. National Review:: http://nationalreview.com/
  17. The Economist:: http://economist.com/
  18. Michael Moore:: http://www.michaelmoore.com/
  19. The Rush Limbaugh Show:: http://rushlimbaugh.com/
  20. Antiwar.com:: http://www.antiwar.com/
  21. IndyMedia:: http://indymedia.org/
  22. Bush Cheney ’04:: http://www.georgewbush.com/
  23. U.S. News and World Report:: http://usnews.com/
  24. The Christian Science Monitor:: http://csmonitor.com/
  25. Common Dreams:: http://commondreams.org/
  26. Opinion Journal:: http://www.opinionjournal.com/
  27. Periodicals of the Ludwig von Mises Institute:: http://www.mises.org/journals.asp
  28. The Village Voice:: http://villagevoice.com/
  29. The Democratic Underground:: http://democraticunderground.com/
  30. Move On:: http://www.moveon.org/
  31. Front Page Magazine:: http://frontpagemag.com/
  32. Daily Kos:: http://dailykos.com/
  33. Lucianne:: http://lucianne.com/
  34. The Weekly Standard:: http://weeklystandard.com/
  35. AlterNet:: http://www.alternet.org/
  36. Counterpunch:: http://counterpunch.org/
  37. Sean Hannity:: http://hannity.com/
  38. Real Clear Politics:: http://realclearpolitics.com/
  39. Air America Radio:: http://airamericaradio.com/pub/globalDefault.htm
  40. Cybercast News Service:: http://www.cnsnews.com/
  41. Instapundit:: http://www.instapundit.com/
  42. Buzzflash:: http://buzzflash.com/
  43. What Really Happened:: http://whatreallyhappened.com/
  44. New Yorker:: http://www.newyorker.com/
  45. The Nation:: http://thenation.com/
  46. Jewish World Review:: http://jewishworldreview.com/
  47. Neal Boortz:: http://www.boortz.com/
  48. Talking Points Memo:: http://www.talkingpointsmemo.com/
  49. Reason:: http://www.reason.com/
  50. Poynter Online:: http://www.poynter.org/
  51. Little Green Footballs:: http://littlegreenfootballs.com/weblog/weblog.php
  52. Bill O’Reilly:: http://www.billoreilly.com/
  53. Wonkette:: http://wonkette.com/
  54. Andrew Sullivan’s Daily Dish:: http://andrewsullivan.com/
  55. The New Republic:: http://www.tnr.com/
  56. World Socialist Website:: http://www.wsws.org/index.shtml
  57. Zmag:: http://zmag.org/
  58. The Atlantic Online:: http://theatlantic.com/
  59. The American Spectator:: http://www.spectator.org/
  60. Human Events Online:: http://humaneventsonline.com/
  61. Washington Monthly:: http://www.washingtonmonthly.com/
  62. Ann Coulter:: http://www.anncoulter.org/
  63. Sobran’s:: http://www.sobran.com/
  64. Arts And Letters Daily:: http://www.aldaily.com/
  65. Tech Central Station:: http://www.techcentralstation.com/
  66. The Cato Journal:: http://cato.org/pubs/journal/cato_journal.html
  67. Capitol Hill Blue:: http://www.capitolhillblue.com/
  68. James Lileks:: http://www.lileks.com/bleats/
  69. The Heritage Foundation:: http://www.heritage.org/
  70. Mother Jones:: http://motherjones.com/
  71. Media Mattes:: http://mediamatters.org/
  72. Vdare:: http://vdare.com/
  73. The Smirking Chimp:: http://www.smirkingchimp.com/
  74. The Hill:: http://www.hillnews.com/
  75. Men’s News Daily:: http://www.mensnewsdaily.com/
  76. Etherzone:: http://www.etherzone.com/
  77. Political Wire:: http://www.politicalwire.com/
  78. Strike The Root:: http://www.strike-the-root.com/
  79. Moore Watch:: http://www.moorewatch.com/
  80. Glenn Beck:: http://www.glennbeck.com/home/index-big.shtml
  81. Power Line:: http://www.powerlineblog.com/
  82. The American Prospect:: http://www.prospect.org/
  83. Michelle Malkin:: http://michellemalkin.com/
  84. Tom Paine:: http://www.tompaine.com/
  85. American Daily:: http://www.americandaily.com/index.php
  86. Anti-State.com:: http://www.anti-state.com/
  87. American Conservative:: http://www.amconmag.com/
  88. GOPUSA:: http://gopusa.com/
  89. Insight Magazine:: http://www.insightmag.com/
  90. Informed Comment: http://www.juancole.com/
  91. National Journal:: http://nationaljournal.com/
  92. Swift Boat Veterans For Truth:: http://swift1.he.net/~swiftvet/
  93. Bartcop:: http://www.bartcop.com/
  94. Hugh Hewitt:: http://www.hughhewitt.com/
  95. The Command Post:: http://command-post.org/
  96. Politics 1:: http://www.politics.com/
  97. Foreign Policy:: http://foreignpolicy.com/
  98. This Modern World:: http://www.thismodernworld.com/
  99. Media Research Center:: http://www.mediaresearch.org/
  100. Fairness And Accuracy In Reporting:: http://www.fair.org/
  101. Election Projection:: http://www.electionprojection.com/
  102. Wizbang:: http://wizbangblog.com/
  103. The American Enterprise Institute:: http://www.aei.org/
  104. The Drudge Retort:: http://www.drudge.com/
  105. Democrats.com:: http://www.democrats.com/
  106. The Semi-Daily Journal of Economist Brad DeLong:: http://www.j-bradford-delong.net/movable_type/
  107. Laura Ingraham:: http://www.lauraingraham.com/
  108. Buzz Machine:: http://www.buzzmachine.com/
  109. Cursor:: http://www.cursor.org/
  110. Talk Left:: http://www.talkleft.com/
  111. The Daily Howler:: http://www.dailyhowler.com/
  112. ChronWatch:: http://chronwatch.com/
  113. Bush Watch:: http://www.bushwatch.com/
  114. Karen De Coster:: http://www.karendecoster.com/
  115. Free-Market.Net:: http://www.free-market.net/
  116. Right Wing News:: https://rightwingnews.com/
  117. Captain’s Quarters:: http://www.captainsquartersblog.com/mt/
  118. The Volokh Conspiracy:: http://volokh.com/
  119. Daniel Drezner:: http://www.danieldrezner.com/blog/
  120. The Raw Story:: http://www.rawstory.com/
  121. Congressional Quarterly:: http://www.cq.com/
  122. The Progressive:: http://www.progressive.org/
  123. Intellectual Conservative:: http://www.intellectualconservative.com/
  124. Roll Call:: http://www.rollcall.com/
  125. Allah Is In The House:: http://www.allahpundit.com/
  126. Blogs For Bush:: http://www.blogsforbush.com/
  127. The Agonist:: http://www.agonist.org/
  128. Whiskey Bar:: http://www.billmon.org/
  129. Scrappleface:: http://www.scrappleface.com/
  130. Democracy For America:: http://www.democracyforamerica.com/
  131. Top 100 Political Websites — January 2003: https://rightwingnews.com/special/rank.php
  132. Top 125 Political Websites — October 2003: https://rightwingnews.com/special/125pop.php
  133. The Top 125 Political Websites On The Net Version 3.0 — May 2004: https://rightwingnews.com/special/pop125.php

Source URL: https://rightwingnews.com/special/the-top-125-political-websites-on-the-net-version-4-0/