Bloggers To The NRSC: Stay Out Of Primaries

by John Hawkins | May 20, 2009 7:59 am

It was disappointing to many Republicans to see the National Republican Senatorial Committee get involved in the Charlie Crist[1] vs. Marco Rubio[2] primary in Florida.

We’ve had the leadership of the Republican Party saying we need to get back to our principles and talking about how important it is to attract more young voters and Hispanic Americans. Then, we get a viable, young, conservative, Hispanic candidate running for the Senate and they arrogantly try to shove him aside to make way for a better connected, moderate pol who’s more acceptable to the GOP establishment. This cuts to the core of what’s wrong with today’s Republican Party.

With that in mind, I got together with Erick Erickson of Redstate[3] and we put together a petition that we requested some of the bigger conservative bloggers sign onto.

If you’re a blogger and you agree, post this petition and let people know about it. If you’re a talk radio host, speak up and let people know where you stand. If you’re a rank and file Republican, let the NRSC know that they’re supposed to represent all Republicans: Telephone: (202) 675-6000, E-mail: [email protected], Twitter[4].

What follows is the petition and the initial signatories.

Dear Senator Cornyn,

We the undersigned believe that the National Republican Senatorial Committee should be committed to serving ALL the members of the Republican Party.

Additionally, the NRSC should be focused on defeating Democrats, not Republicans. Towards that end, we believe it was completely inappropriate for the NRSC to endorse a candidate in the Florida primary race.

Therefore, we request that both you and the NRSC alter your position on the Florida Senate race, maintain neutrality, and promise to spend no money directly or indirectly in that race.

Sincerely yours,

John Hawkins
Right Wing News[5]

Erick Erickson
Redstate[6]

R.S. McCain
The Other McCain[7], Right Wing News[5], Not One Red Cent[8]

Ed Morrissey
Hot Air[9]

Jon Henke
The Next Right[10]

Eric Odom
American Liberty Alliance[11]

Pamela Geller
Atlas Shrugs[12]

Dan Riehl
Riehl World View[13]

Jeff Goldstein
Protein Wisdom[14]

Kevin Aylward
Wizbang![15]

Lorie Byrd
Wizbang![15]

David Blount
Moonbattery[16], Right Wing News[5]

Melissa Clouthier
Melissa Clouthier[17], The Other McCain[7], Right Wing News[5]

Jeff Vreeland
Tech Republican[18], President of VM Technologies and IT Chairman for the YRNF

Matt Lewis
Townhall[19]

Ned Ryun
The Madison Project[20]

Justin Hart

John Caldwell

Joshua Trevino
Co-founder of Redstate[6], founder of Treviño Strategies and Media[21].

Chip Hanlon
Red County[22]

Robert Loewen
President of the Lincoln Club of Orange County[23]

Richard Wagner
Chairman of the Lincoln Club of Orange County[23]

Update #1: Some other people who wrote about or endorsed this petition yesterday,

The Sundries Shack[24]
Hyscience[25]
The Hill’s Blog[26]
The Washington Independent[27]
BitsBlog[28]
No Runny Eggs[29]
Patriot Room[30]

Endnotes:
  1. Charlie Crist: http://www.charliecrist.com/
  2. Marco Rubio: http://marcorubio.com/
  3. Redstate: http://www.redstate.com/
  4. Twitter: http://twitter.com/nrsc
  5. Right Wing News: https://rightwingnews.com
  6. Redstate: http://www.redstate.com/
  7. The Other McCain: http://rsmccain.blogspot.com/
  8. Not One Red Cent: http://boycottnrsc.blogspot.com/
  9. Hot Air: http://hotair.com/
  10. The Next Right: http://www.thenextright.com/
  11. American Liberty Alliance: http://www.americanlibertyalliance.com/
  12. Atlas Shrugs: http://atlasshrugs2000.typepad.com/atlas_shrugs/
  13. Riehl World View: http://www.riehlworldview.com/
  14. Protein Wisdom: http://proteinwisdom.com/
  15. Wizbang!: http://wizbangblog.com/
  16. Moonbattery: http://www.moonbattery.com/
  17. Melissa Clouthier: http://www.melissaclouthier.com/
  18. Tech Republican: http://techrepublican.com/blog/jeff-vreeland
  19. Townhall: http://www.townhall.com
  20. The Madison Project: http://www.themadisonproject.com/
  21. Treviño Strategies and Media: http://www.trevinostrategies.com/
  22. Red County: http://redcounty.com/
  23. Lincoln Club of Orange County: http://www.lincolnclub.org/mc/page.do
  24. The Sundries Shack: http://www.sundriesshack.com/2009/05/20/marco-rubio-is-the-new-hotness-nrsc-is-well-not/
  25. Hyscience: http://www.hyscience.com/archives/2009/05/marco_rubio_vid.php
  26. The Hill’s Blog: http://briefingroom.thehill.com/2009/05/20/conservative-bloggers-petitions-nrsc-to-stay-out-of-florida/
  27. The Washington Independent: http://washingtonindependent.com/43811/bloggers-to-nrsc-drop-dead
  28. BitsBlog: http://bitsblog.florack.us/?p=20693
  29. No Runny Eggs: http://norunnyeggs.com/2009/05/bloggers-to-the-nrsc-stay-out-of-primaries-via-right-wing-news/
  30. Patriot Room: http://patriotroom.com/article/conservative-bloggers-petition-nrsc

Source URL: https://rightwingnews.com/top-news/bloggers-to-the-nrsc-stay-out-of-primaries/