The 6th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards

by John Hawkins | December 17, 2007 7:34 am

In order to recognize the excellent work some of our fellow bloggers have been doing, RWN has put together the “6th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards*”. More than 240 bloggers were invited to vote for their favorite blog in numerous categories and 45 responded.

Here were the rules of the contest:

1) For every category except “The Best Blog Overall,” each judge was allowed to make 1-5 unranked selections. The winner of each category was the blog with the most votes.

In “The Best Blog Overall” category, the judges made 1-15 unranked selections. Rank in that category was also based on the number of votes received.

The winner of each category is presented below with their total number of votes in parentheses beside of them.

2) The judges were not allowed to vote for their own blogs, blogs run by family members, or Right Wing News since I’m sponsoring the contest.

Before the results are presented, here’s a list of the judges. RWN appreciates their participation…

Aaron’s CC[1], The American Princess[2], Atlas Shrugs[3], Barking Moonbat Early Warning System[4], Betsy’s Page[5], Bit’s Blog[6], Blonde Sagacity[7], Bookworm Room[8], Cassy Fiano[9], Classical Values[10], Dr. Melissa Clouthier[11], Conservative Grapevine[12], Ed Driscoll[13], Cara Ellison[14], Euphoric Reality[15], Five Feet of Fury[16], Freeman Hunt[17], GOPUSA Northeast[18], IMAO[19], Inoperable Terran[20], Jeremayakovka[21], Likelihood of Success[22], Little Miss Attila[23], Rachel Lucas[24], Moonbattery[25], mountaineer musings[26], Musclehead Revolution[27], No Oil For Pacifists[28], The Nose On Your Face[29], Damian Penny[30], Pirate’s Cove[31], Reformed Chicks Blabbing[32], Matt Sanchez[33], Say Anything[34], Ian Schwartz[35], Don Singleton[36], Sister Toldjah[37], Solomonia[38], Stop The ACLU[39], The Sundries Shack[40], Texas Rainmaker[41], Townhall[42] (Amanda Carpenter), Townhall[42] (Katie Favazza), Trying To Grok[43], WILLisms[44].

Now here’s what you’ve all been waiting for, the results:

The Funniest Blog

4) Iowahawk[45] (7)
3) Ace of Spades HQ[46] (9)
2) IMAO[19] (10)
1) Scrappleface[47](13)

Best Original Reporting By A Blog

4) Newsbusters[48] (4)
4) Michael J. Totten[49] (4)
3) Confederate Yankee[50] (8)
2) Michael Yon: Online Magazine[51] (10)
1) Michelle Malkin[52] (11)

Best Horse Race Blog (Best election coverage & analysis from a blog)

4) Hot Air[53](4)
2) The Corner[54] (5)
2) Real Clear Politics[55] (5)
1) The Campaign Spot[56] (6)

Favorite Political Website That’s Not A Blog

4) Townhall[57] (4)
3) The Drudge Report[58] (5)
2) National Review[59] (8)
1) Real Clear Politics[55] (10)

Favorite Columnist Who’s Not A Blogger

4) Charles Krauthammer[60] (8)
3) Thomas Sowell[61] (9)
2) Ann Coulter[62] (12)
1) Mark Steyn[63] (17)

Least Liked Columnist Who’s Not A Blogger

4) Frank Rich [64] (5)
3) Ann Coulter[62] (6)
2) Maureen Dowd[65] (11)
1) Paul Krugman[66] (13)

Most Annoying Left-Of-Center Blogger

4) Glenn Greenwald[67] (4)
4) Sadly, No![68] (4)
3) Andrew Sullivan[69] (8)
2) Arianna Huffington[70] (9)
1) Kos[71] (19)

Most Annoying Right-Of-Center Blogger

3) Allah from Hot Air[53] (3)
3) Debbie Schlussel[72] (3)
2) Hugh Hewitt[73] (4)
1) Andrew Sullivan[69] (13)

Most Overrated Blog

4) Power Line[74] (3)
4) Redstate[75] (3)
4) Wonkette[76] (3)
3) Hot Air[53] (4)
2) Instapundit[77] (7)
1) Daily Kos[78] (8)

Best Linker

4) Newsbusters[48] (3)
2) Hot Air[53] (5)
2) Michelle Malkin[52] (5)
1) Instapundit[77] (21)

The Best Original Content For A Blog

4) Michelle Malkin[52] (3)
4) Protein Wisdom[79] (3)
2) Ace of Spades HQ[46] (4)
2) Captain’s Quarters[80] (4)
1) Hot Air[53] (6)

The Best Blog Overall

10) Atlas Shrugs[3] (3)
10) Gateway Pundit[81](3)
10) Jihad Watch[82] (3)
8) The Anchoress[83] (4)
8) Newsbusters[48] (4)
7) Ace of Spades HQ[46] (6)
6) The Corner[54] (7)
5) Captain’s Quarters[80] (9)
3) Instapundit[77] (10)
3) Michelle Malkin[52] (10)
2) Little Green Footballs[84] (11)
1) Hot Air[53] (12)

You can see results from previous years by clicking the links below

The Fifth Annual Warblogger Awards (For 2006)[85]
The Fourth Annual Warblogger Awards For 2005[86]
The Third Annual Warblogger Awards For 2004[87]
The Second Annual Warblogger Awards For 2003[88]
The First Annual Warblogger Awards For 2002[89]
The Best Of The Blogosphere (The Precursor To The Warblogger Awards)[90]

* The name was changed from the “Warblogger Awards” to the “Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards” this year. That’s because the term “warblogger” used to be regularly applied to conservative bloggers, but has in recent years fallen out of favor. Since the term “warblogger” is so seldom used these days, it was causing some confusion, because some people seemed to associate it with military bloggers. Because of that, it seemed like a good idea to change the name of the awards.

Endnotes:
  1. Aaron’s CC: http://aarons.cc/
  2. The American Princess: http://conservativeprincess.mu.nu/archives/202089.php
  3. Atlas Shrugs: http://atlasshrugs2000.typepad.com/atlas_shrugs/
  4. Barking Moonbat Early Warning System: http://barking-moonbat.com/
  5. Betsy’s Page: http://betsyspage.blogspot.com/
  6. Bit’s Blog: http://bitheads.blogspot.com/
  7. Blonde Sagacity: http://mobyrebuttal.blogspot.com/
  8. Bookworm Room: http://bookwormroom.wordpress.com/
  9. Cassy Fiano: http://cassyfiano.blogspot.com/
  10. Classical Values: http://www.classicalvalues.com/
  11. Dr. Melissa Clouthier: http://drmelissaclouthier.blogspot.com/
  12. Conservative Grapevine: http://www.conservativegrapevine.com
  13. Ed Driscoll: http://eddriscoll.com/weblog.php
  14. Cara Ellison: http://caraellison.wordpress.com/
  15. Euphoric Reality: http://euphoria.jarkolicious.com/
  16. Five Feet of Fury: http://www.fivefeetoffury.com/
  17. Freeman Hunt: http://freemanhunt.blogspot.com/
  18. GOPUSA Northeast: http://www.gopusanj.com
  19. IMAO: http://imao.us/
  20. Inoperable Terran: http://terran.godmonkey.com/
  21. Jeremayakovka: http://jeremayakovka.typepad.com/
  22. Likelihood of Success: http://likelihoodofsuccess.com
  23. Little Miss Attila: http://littlemissattila.mu.nu/
  24. Rachel Lucas: http://rachellucas.com/
  25. Moonbattery: http://www.moonbattery.com/
  26. mountaineer musings: http://mountaineermusings.com/
  27. Musclehead Revolution: http://www.crosswalk.com/news/weblogs/kmc/
  28. No Oil For Pacifists: http://nooilforpacifists.blogspot.com/
  29. The Nose On Your Face: http://www.thenoseonyourface.com/
  30. Damian Penny: http://www.damianpenny.com
  31. Pirate’s Cove: http://www.thepiratescove.us/?p=4482
  32. Reformed Chicks Blabbing: http://reformedchicksblabbing.blogspot.com/
  33. Matt Sanchez: http://Matt-Sanchez.com
  34. Say Anything: http://sayanythingblog.com/index.php
  35. Ian Schwartz: http://ianschwartz.com/contact/
  36. Don Singleton: http://donsingleton.blogspot.com/
  37. Sister Toldjah: http://sistertoldjah.com/
  38. Solomonia: http://www.solomonia.com/blog/
  39. Stop The ACLU: http://stoptheaclu.com/
  40. The Sundries Shack: http://www.sundriesshack.com
  41. Texas Rainmaker: http://texasrainmaker.blogspot.com/
  42. Townhall: http://www.townhall.com
  43. Trying To Grok: http://www.tryingtogrok.com/
  44. WILLisms: http://www.willisms.com/
  45. Iowahawk: http://iowahawk.typepad.com/
  46. Ace of Spades HQ: http://www.ace.mu.nu/
  47. Scrappleface: http://scrappleface.com
  48. Newsbusters: http://newsbusters.org/
  49. Michael J. Totten: http://www.michaeltotten.com/
  50. Confederate Yankee: http://confederateyankee.mu.nu/
  51. Michael Yon: Online Magazine: http://michaelyon-online.com/
  52. Michelle Malkin: http://michellemalkin.com/
  53. Hot Air: http://hotair.com/
  54. The Corner: http://corner.nationalreview.com/
  55. Real Clear Politics: http://www.realclearpolitics.com/
  56. The Campaign Spot: http://campaignspot.nationalreview.com/
  57. Townhall: http://townhall.com/
  58. The Drudge Report: http://drudgereport.com/
  59. National Review: http://www.nationalreview.com/
  60. Charles Krauthammer: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/linkset/2005/03/24/LI2005032401690.html
  61. Thomas Sowell: http://www.tsowell.com/
  62. Ann Coulter: http://anncoulter.com/
  63. Mark Steyn: http://steynonline.com/
  64. Frank Rich : http://www.nytimes.com/
  65. Maureen Dowd: http://www.nytimes.com/
  66. Paul Krugman: http://www.nytimes.com/
  67. Glenn Greenwald: http://www.salon.com/opinion/greenwald/
  68. Sadly, No!: http://www.sadlyno.com/
  69. Andrew Sullivan: http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/
  70. Arianna Huffington: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/theblog/
  71. Kos: http://dailykos.com/
  72. Debbie Schlussel: http://www.debbieschlussel.com/
  73. Hugh Hewitt: http://hughhewitt.townhall.com/blog
  74. Power Line: http://www.powerlineblog.com/
  75. Redstate: http://www.redstate.com/
  76. Wonkette: http://wonkette.com/
  77. Instapundit: http://instapundit.com/
  78. Daily Kos: http://dailykos.com/
  79. Protein Wisdom: http://proteinwisdom.com/
  80. Captain’s Quarters: http://www.captainsquartersblog.com/mt/
  81. Gateway Pundit: http://gatewaypundit.blogspot.com/
  82. Jihad Watch: http://jihadwatch.org/
  83. The Anchoress: http://www.theanchoressonline.com/
  84. Little Green Footballs: http://littlegreenfootballs.com/weblog/weblog.php
  85. The Fifth Annual Warblogger Awards (For 2006): https://rightwingnews.com/archives/week_2006_12_10.PHP#006957
  86. The Fourth Annual Warblogger Awards For 2005: https://rightwingnews.com/blogosphere/wba4.php
  87. The Third Annual Warblogger Awards For 2004: https://rightwingnews.com/special/warblogger2.php
  88. The Second Annual Warblogger Awards For 2003: https://rightwingnews.com/special/warblogger2003.php
  89. The First Annual Warblogger Awards For 2002: https://rightwingnews.com/special/warblogger.php
  90. The Best Of The Blogosphere (The Precursor To The Warblogger Awards): https://rightwingnews.com/special/ranking.php

Source URL: https://rightwingnews.com/uncategorized/the-6th-annual-right-wing-news-conservative-blog-awards/