The 8th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards

In order to recognize the excellent work some of our fellow bloggers have been doing, RWN has put together the “8th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards.” More than 250 bloggers were invited to vote for their favorite blog in numerous categories and 49 responded.

Here were the rules of the contest:

1) For every category except “The Best Blog Overall,” each judge was allowed to make 1-5 unranked selections. The winner of each category was the blog with the most votes.

In “The Best Blog Overall” category, the judges made 1-15 unranked selections. Rank in that category was also based on the number of votes received.

The winners of each category are presented below with their total number of votes in parentheses beside of them.

2) The judges were not allowed to vote for my blogs since I’m sponsoring the contest.

Before the results are presented, here’s a list of the judges. RWN appreciates their participation…

Ace of Spades HQ, David All Group, Argghhhh!, Atlas Shrugs, Blackfive, Bookworm Room, Lorie Byrd, Gina Cobb, Cara Ellison, Copious Dissent, Daily Uprising, Dodgeblogium, Ed Driscoll, Katie Favazza, GraniteGrok, IMAO, Infidels Are Cool, JammieWearingFool, The Jawa Report, Jihad Watch, Legal Insurrection, Libertarian Republican, Little Miss Attila, Mean Ol’ Meany , Moe Lane, Moonbattery, Mount Virtus, mountaineer musings, Nice Deb, No Oil For Pacifists, The Nose On Your Face, Patriot Room, Pursuing, Outside The Beltway, Pirates Man Your Women!, Russ. Just Russ, Sister Toldjah, Solomonia, Stop The ACLU, The Sundries Shack, The TrogloPundit, This Ain’t Hell, Twenty Mule Team, Viewpoint, Villainous Company, Viral Footage, The Virtuous Republic, Vox Popoli, YidwithLid

Now here’s what you’ve all been waiting for, the results:

The Funniest Blog

3) Ace of Spades HQ (11)
3) Scrappleface (11)
2) IMAO (15)
1) Iowahawk (21)

Best Designed Blog

3) Power Line (4)
2) Michelle Malkin (5)
1) Hot Air (17)

Best Original Reporting By A Blog

4) The Other McCain (8)
3) Gateway Pundit (10)
2) Michelle Malkin (13)
1) Big Government (14)

Most Annoying Left-Of-Center Blogger

4) Glenn Greenwald (4)
4) Media Matters for America (4)
3) Kos(7)
2) Andrew Sullivan (19)
1) Charles Johnson (23)

Most Annoying Right-Of-Center Blogger

2) Robert Stacy McCain (4)
2) Allahpundit/Hot Air (4)
1) Debbie Schlussel (7)

Most Overrated Blog

3) Instapundit (5)
3) The Huffington Post (5)
2) Daily Kos (7)
1) Little Green Footballs (11)

Favorite Political Website That’s Not A Blog

4) Townhall (4)
4) Drudge Report (4)
3) Politico (6)
2) Real Clear Politics (12)
1) National Review (14)

Favorite Columnist Who’s Not A Blogger

4) Ann Coulter (6)
3) Mark Steyn (11)
2) Thomas Sowell (13)
1) Charles Krauthammer (16)

Best Linker

3) Doug Ross (4)
2) Hot Air (7)
1) Instapundit (26)

The Best Original Content For A Blog

4) Ace of Spades HQ (5)
3) Gateway Pundit (6)
1) Hot Air (7)
1) Big Government (7)

The Best Blog Overall

11) The Volokh Conspiracy (4)
11) Redstate (4)
11) Big Government (4)
9) Newsbusters (5)
9) Blackfive (5)
8) Instapundit (6)
7) Big Hollywood (7)
6) Power Line (9)
5) Gateway Pundit (9)
4) The Corner (10)
3) Ace of Spades HQ (11)
2) Michelle Malkin (14)
1) Hot Air (23)

You can see results from previous years by clicking the links below:

The 7th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards (For 2008)
The 6th Annual Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards (For 2007)
The Fifth Annual Warblogger Awards (For 2006)
The Fourth Annual Warblogger Awards For 2005
The Third Annual Warblogger Awards For 2004
The Second Annual Warblogger Awards For 2003
The First Annual Warblogger Awards For 2002
The Best Of The Blogosphere (The Precursor To The Warblogger Awards)

The name was changed from the “Warblogger Awards” to the “Right Wing News Conservative Blog Awards.” That’s because the term “warblogger” used to be regularly applied to conservative bloggers, but has in recent years fallen out of favor. Since the term “warblogger” is so seldom used these days, it was causing some confusion because some people seemed to associate it with military bloggers. Because of that, it seemed like a good idea to change the name of the awards.

Share this!

Enjoy reading? Share it with your friends!